Board of Education

Carbondale Community High School District #165
Board of Education

School Board

Front Row:  Julie VanWinkle, Kathy Booziotis and Dr. Linda Flowers.  Back Row:
Dr. Francis Tsung, Christopher Swims, Dr. Brian Woodard and Dr. Joe Hudgins.

Dr. Brian Woodard, President:
Dr. Linda Flowers, Vice President:
Mrs. Kathy Booziotis, Secretary:
Dr. Joe Hudgins, Member:
Mr. Christopher Swims, Member:
Dr. Francis Tsung, Member:
Mrs. Julie VanWinkle, Member: can be used to email all board members at once.​



 Board of Education Meetings 

Time: 7:00 p.m.
Location: CCHS Cafeteria

July 19, 2018

August 16, 2018

September 20, 2018

October 18, 2018

November 8, 2018

December 13, 2018

January 17, 2019

February 21, 2019

March 21, 2019

April 25, 2019

May 15, 2019

June 20, 2019

Board Meeting Agenda
Public Notices

Board Minutes
January 2019 July 2019  
February 2019 August 2019  
March 2019  September 2019  
April 2019 October 2019  
May 2019 November 2019  
June 2019 December 2019  

Minutes from 2006 - 2018   
Development and Training Completed by Board Members

     All Illinois Board of Education members must receive training in professional development leadership (P.A. 97-8) and the Open Meetings Act (P.A. 97-504). Mandatory training will also be required after the new evaluation requirements are implemented in each school district.  For additional information, see Board policy 2:120, Board Member Development.

    The following table contains mandatory and non-mandatory training and development activities that were completed by each Board member.  When the training was provided by the Illinois Association of School Boards, the acronym "IASB" follows the listed activity. In addition, please note the following acronyms when viewing the table:

IOAG:  Illinois Office of the Attorney General

OMA:  Open Meetings Act On-Line Training

FOIA:   Freedom of Information Act On-Line Training

PDLT/PERA: Professional Development Leadership Training and Performance Evaluation Reform Act (PERA) Training for School Board Members 

Name Development and Training
Activity and Provider
Date Completed (beginning in 2012 unless otherwise noted)
Kathy Booziotis

OMA Training by IOAG

PDLT/PERA Training by IASB

 March 9, 2012

June 20, 2013

Linda Flowers PDLT/PERA Training by IASB

FOIA Training by IOAG

OMA Training by IOAG

November 17, 2013

March 20, 2015

March 20, 2015

Joe Hudgins OMA Training by IOAG

PDLT/PERA Training by IASB

November 13, 2012

February 15, 2014

Christopher Swims OMA Training by IOAG
PDLT/PERA Training by IASB
August 18, 2017
August 23, 2018
Francis Tsung

OMA Training by IOAG

PDLT/PERA Training by IASB

February 16, 2012

February 15, 2014

Julie VanWinkle OMA Training by IOAG
PDLT/PERA Training by IASB
March 30, 2017
June 16 & 17, 2017
Brian Woodard

OMA Training by IOAG

FOIA Training by IOAG

PDLT/PERA Training by IASB

April 19, 2013

April 24, 2013

April 28, 2013

    The Illinois Association of School Boards (IASB) is a voluntary organization of local boards of education dedicated to strengthening the Illinois public schools through local citizen control.  Although not a part of State government, IASB is organized by member Board of Educations as a private not-for-profit corporation under authority granted by Article 23 of the School Code. The mission of the IASB is excellence in local school governance in support of quality public education.

    For more information regarding the IASB and its programs visit

CCHS Board Policy Manual